(Best New Music) Detroit Swindle feat. Mark de Clive-Lowe – Just Not Norma

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 9.07.55 PM.png

Seriously, some of the best house I’ve heard in awhile. (audio)

 

Despite my mentioning of Heist being one of my favorite house labels last week, it feels like it’s been awhile since I’ve mentioned the actual label heads of, well, the label, Detroit Swindle. And I’ll be honest, I’ve always found their music more dependable than exciting. I say “dependable” because the duo’s releases are great for the dance floor, but not always the most interesting to listen to. That being said, this new track with Mark de Clive-Lowe has absolutely floored me. From the live-sounding drums, pronounced crispy as hell hi-hats, to the tasteful keyboard solos (provided by Clive-Lowe for sure), there’s so much creative, positive energy in this up tempo track that it immediately jumped out at me the first moment I heard it. Add to the fact that this song sounds like it’s going to destroy dance floors, and this might just be the freshest thing the duo have made in awhile.

One things for certain, I’ll definitely be picking this new EP, Can’t Hold It, when I get the chance. It’s available now over at their website!

Leave a Reply

