(Best New Music) THE GRIND: Jukka Eskola Soul Trio – Martha’s New Moment/Introducing The Soul Trio

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 9.33.55 PM.png

IS: Jukka Eskola Soul Trio Bandcamp

Get your feet wet into the wonderful world of Finnish jazz with Jukka Eskola Soul Trio (video)

 

One area of music that I’ve always wanted to expand my knowledge on was European jazz. From all the way back when Ninja Tune released an album by a production duo named Skalpel, whose debut album exclusively sampled Polish jazz exclusively, I’ve been intrigued by the alien yet familiar sounds of this largely unknown form of jazz that most people don’t know about outside of the music’s country of origin. Thankfully, I feel like I’ve got an in to this world of jazz I know very little about with a little group called The Jukka Eskola Soul Trio.

Basically, this little 7 inch record has everything I’m looking for: drums up front and center and lots of horns, organ and stand up bass. The drum breaks that start off both sides of this record are the kind that make hip-hop producers wet themselves (myself included) but both tracks are fun, playful tracks that are sure to have you grinning from ear to ear. After that amazing drum break, “Martha’s New Moment” starts off sounding like familiar enough before heading into some fun, bouncy soul-jazz/funk territory. The real winner hear to me is the shuffle of “Introducing The Soul Trio”, which is just bursting at the seems with positive, enjoyable energy (as well as some rock solid musician to boot) that I guarantee you’ll be hitting replay more than once!

Honestly, I really can’t say a bad thing about these two tracks and if you haven’t picked up this 45 or the album yet, I strongly recommend you do so (which you can do over at their Bandcamp)!

Leave a Reply

