THE GRIND: Coldcut x On U Sound – Vitals feat. Roots Manuva

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 9.10.44 PM.png

IS: Ahead Of Our Time Soundcloud

The owners of Ninja Tune come back to the fray with a track that’s actually not half bad (audio)

 

After Sound Mirrors, I was pretty much ready to write off Coldcut as another legacy artist who most significant days were behind them (seriously, try and go back and listen to that album and tell me that it’s stood the test of time). But as the saying goes, time heals all wounds and when I saw this come up in my Soundcloud feed, I thought I’d give it a go. Turns out, it’s not half bad at all. I’d even go as far as to say I really dig it.

Immediately I liked how the Ninja Tune duo used the sound of roots reggae as the sort of bedrock of the track, added some dubstep touches here and there (mostly in the bass line), and really let the drums speak, specifically in the way they stagger into the mix. Add on top of everything some beautiful sci-fi siren synth work, and a top notch couple of verses from UK rapper, Roots Manuva, and you’ve got a track that’s surprisingly good despite the odds being against it (the dub version is pretty good, too).

Hopefully the release of Coldcut’s newest album Outside The Echo Chamber will wash the taste of Sound Mirrors out of my mouth when it comes out on May 19th via Ahead Of Our Time.

Leave a Reply

