(Best New Music) THE GRIND: Takuya Kuroda – R.S.B.D. (TBG Rise and Fall Remix)

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 2.58.31 PM.png

IS: Concord Music Group YouTube

Good lord… (music video)

Well so much for the hiatus on beat music. But when a track is this good, the love needs to be shared. I usually wait until the last few sentences add in my trademark “simply put”, but simply put: this is quite easily one of the best remixes I’ve heard yet from the man. I’ve often mentioned how Tall Black Guy is leagues beyond his peers because of his emphasis on musicality rather than just making straight loops, and this track exemplifies that fact perfectly. TBG’s rolling, funky drums, and the ambient synth and piano work take center stage while Takuya Kuroda’s lyrical horn work helps enhance the atmosphere. It’s honestly the perfect marriage of jazz and hip-hop that I’m always looking for but most can’t quite get the balance right. I guess my only minor complaint is that I wish it was about 10 minutes long because this is pure heaven to me.

Here’s hoping for a vinyl release of this! Preferably on 7 inch.

By the way, here’s the original for your listening pleasure, which is nothing to sneeze at as well.

Leave a Reply

