WORTH A WATCH: In Depth w/ Run The Jewels on Ebro In The Morning + personal rant

hqdefault.jpeg

IS: YouTube

This interview was the medicine I needed (video)

 

I’m gonna level with you guys: I’ve been a little bit of a musical funk as of late. Not so much with the blog-related stuff, which has been consistently fun over the last two years I’ve been doing this, but rather as far as my DJing and my own musical production stuff (which hopefully I’ll have something out later this year, watch this space). My last few shows haven’t gone as well as I would’ve liked and I haven’t really felt the urge/inspiration to practice/create as much as I would like, creating sort of a never ending cycle of self-defeat and cynicism. Add on top of that putting too much focus on politics and internet drama (both of which I will NEVER talk about on here, rest assured) and it’s been hard trying get back to the things that I supposedly love.

After spotting this interview with Run The Jewels on Ambrosia For Heads, one of the better and more verbose hip-hop blogs around, I figured maybe I should give it a watch/listen, and I’ll be damned if taking time out to go through the whole thing wasn’t one of the best decisions I’ve made recently. In the beginning of the interview with Ebro and Rosenberg, Killer Mike touches on some political stuff, which no matter which aisle you stand on is still worth listening to, and from there they switch gears, getting into the meet of the discussion: the history of the group, where they started, where they are now, and where they’re going.

The real catharsis from the interview for me was when El-P started talking about his place in hip-hop history. As someone who was around for the “Def Jux” years, it was interesting to hear him finally speak candidly about how he really felt about running his own label. In the past it seemed like maybe the wounds were still too fresh and that the future was still uncertain (Def Jux basically went defunct in 2009 and El-P didn’t really resurface until around the time Killer Mike’s R.A.P. Music came out, save the occasional instrumental mixtape). Here however, El-P seems not only invigorated, but also at peace and proud of the legacy he left behind, as Def Jux as a label was truly ahead of it’s time. Don’t believe me; remember that Def Jux was the label that brought you Murs and 9th Wonder, Mr. Lif, Cannibal Ox, and Aesop Rock, just to name a few.

I’m not really sure what else to say at this point other than that listening to Killer Mike and El-P said really gave me the kick in the ass that I needed and really got me out of the funk that was sort of hanging around me up until now.

Long story short: watch this interview.

Sorry about the rambliness of this.

Leave a Reply

