(Best New Music) THE GRIND: MF DOOM & Madlib – Avalanche

Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 10.42.21 AM.png

IS: Rappcats Soundcloud

New/old Madvilliany. Need I say more? (audio)

At this point, the fabled Madvilliany 2 will probably never come out (rumor has it was close to coming out once until DOOM saw Peanut Butter Wolf teasing the release of the record on social media, and then completely disappeared from the internet). So while I’m not holding my breath for the album, I do enjoy the slow leak of songs that have been coming out in place of it. And the funny thing is, this is not a new song. I’m pretty sure “Avalanche” came out last year. Yet I find myself liking this song a lot more than I did when I first heard it. It’s nothing ground-breaking (though I really do think that has more to do with 12 years of hype) but I’ll be damned if it’s not Madlib and DOOM (remember, all caps) in top form. Doom’s rhymes as always can be enjoyed from a passive listen, but ultimately demand that you listen intently to catch those “rewind” moments that he’s so fond of. And Madlib goes heavy on the psychedelic vibe, preferring to let the slow crawl of the sample move the song rather than the drums (which I think was kind off putting for me at first but now I really dig it).

Anyways, all of this is attached to a new Madvillian figure that’ll be released next year, including 7-inch record that’s comes with it. Want more info and to pre-order? Run over to Rappcats and check it out for yourself!

Here’s hoping for more DOOM and Madlib in 2017!

Leave a Reply

