WORTH A WATCH/THE GRIND: J-Zone & Pablo Martin are The Du-Rites Album Stream & Mini-Documentary

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 10.47.04 AM.png

IS: Du-Rites Soundcloud

Grimy, greasy funk from rapper/producer J-Zone and Tom Tom Club multi-instrumentalist, Pablo Martin (audio/video)

 

After watching loads of J-Zone promo videos (more times than I’d like to admit), when I saw he was playing drums on a lot of his new recordings, I think subconsciously said to myself, “Wouldn’t be great if he made a deep funk album?”. Well thanks to throwing that thought out into the universe (and probably, more likely, the help of Tom Tom Club multi-instrumentalist Pablo Martin), my thoughts became a reality. Presenting the Du-Rites, a grimy, greasy deep funk combo that’s surprisingly not as straightforward as I thought it would be. Several songs veer off into library/soundtrack funk territory (something I’m huge fan of), offering up a variety of sounds and textures that your average James Brown knock off band wouldn’t explore. There are some straight up funk tracks to grease the wheels as well, offering you plenty of organ, guitar, and drums for days (“Git’n Off” is prime example of this). Basically what I’m saying is I love what I’m hearing here and can’t wait to snag my copy on vinyl!

Speaking of J-Zone promo videos, don’t forget to check out this video of the duo working in J-Zone’s home basement studio! Truly inspiring stuff to see what can be done with such limited equipment!

Leave a Reply

