(Best New DJ Mix) THE GRIND: Machinedrum – Boiler Room London DJ Set 2016

Screen Shot 2016-10-07 at 1.53.47 PM.png

IS: Boiler Room Soundcloud

Machinedrum turns in an excellent mix for Boiler Room TV that’s sure to give you restless leg syndrome (audio/video)

It’s been awhile since I’ve checked with our good friends over at Boiler Room. But when I saw that Machinedrum had done a DJ set for the underground music monolith channel, I thought I should tune in. And having listened to the mix in full, I have to admit that this is singularly one of the best mixes I’ve heard in awhile.

Combining bass music with trap isn’t anything new, but throwing in old Warp Records classics as well was definitely something I didn’t see coming (the resurrection of LFO’s “Freak” being a particular standout for me). There’s kind of a relentless fury to the mix, where there are no real breaks or drums and the mix just plows through you like an out of control semi while you riding a tricycle and yet somehow it never gets boring. Hell, I normally the despise mainstream trap and here at all sounds right at home, which just shows the outstanding quality of this mix; how music that you would normally hate sounds great if given the proper context.

So any bass music heads should definitely give this a listen but honestly recommend this mix to anyone out there with an open mind for music. This one is going to making its rounds on my playlist for sure.

2 thoughts on “(Best New DJ Mix) THE GRIND: Machinedrum – Boiler Room London DJ Set 2016

Leave a Reply

