THE DAILY GRIND: Swarvy – Rappers

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 4.36.53 PM.png

image source: Street Corner Music’s sound cloud page

Another fantastic beat maker from Street Corner Music! (audio)

 

So I guess I could say I’m a bit jaded about beat makers these days. Despite having seen this album pop up under Street Corner Music releases last year, I didn’t really give it much thought. But after listening to that excellent Stro Elliot track from last week, Soundcloud went straight into the Swarvy Stunts playlist and surprisingly it just clicked with me. There’s something both familiar and different about his sound (could be the implementation of live instruments along with samples) that’s so appealing to me. Not as out there as say Ras G or Flying Lotus, but hardly just straightforward instrumental hip-hop either (which I have nothing against anything I listed above, by the way). I definitely recommend checking out the whole album/playlist but this is one of the tracks that has stuck out for me at the moment.

 

Leave a Reply

