THE DAILY GRIND: The Mark III – Funky Heaven

Seriously, how does Now Again continue to find all this amazing music? (audio)

 

Just when I thought the well of obscure American funk and soul had run dry, reissue label Now Again proves me wrong with another release that I never even knew I wanted. It helps that the track that have uploaded on Soundcloud pretty much has everything that I look for when it comes to funk these days (sloppy as hell drums and bass, scratchy guitar, and a searing synth lead). It also doesn’t hurt that the name of the album, Marvin Whoremonger, might be one of the best funk album names I’ve ever heard.

If you want to get your hands on this for yourself on vinyl, you’d best be subscribin’ to Now Again Reserve, their subscription-based release service, which is already one release deep! After hearing this one, I might sign up myself!

Leave a Reply

