PLAYING FAVORITES: The Horace Silver Quintet – Song For My Father

Pure jazz bliss! (audio)

 

I actually have no real special reason for posting this song, other than it ranks quite high amongst my favorite jazz numbers. It came up on my Facebook feed and since recently my interest in jazz has been rekindled, it seemed appropriate to post this. Even if you just listen to the opening 2 minutes of the song (which you should listen to the whole song anyways, as it contains some fantastic soloing, especially by Horace Silver himself), I can guarantee that first masterful rush of melody will do things to you that you probably not thought possible. If you listen to anything I post on here today, this should be it.

Leave a Reply

